Innovation Day

Hi guys! Today I will be talking about my Innovation Day project. We were asked to build a castle with a working drawbridge.

My Hypothesis

I will be making a drawbridge using pulleys and gears. I will make it like a kite. The pulley will be the string, and the gears will be for extending it.

Here is some information about the medeival times that I found on the way.

Now, for some information on pulleys and gears.

What is a pulley?

A pulley is a wheel with a groove. It has a string/rope hanging through it.

How does a pulley help us?

A pulley can reduce the force needed to lift the object.

A simple pulley system.

Instead of pulling up, you pull down, and it is easier to apply force downwards, then upwards.

How do you use a pulley?

To use a pulley, simply apply force in the downwards direction, on the rope/string.

A video on pulleys.

Here is some work I did about pulleys.

What is a gear?

A gear is also a wheel, exept with teeth/spikes around it instead of a groove in the middle.

How does a gear help us?

A gear changes the direction in wich the force is directed.

How does a gear work?

You spin the driver gear, and the driven gear follows, in the opposite direction.

Here is some work on gears.

Displaying IMG-0774.JPG

Here is a video on gears.

My Design

Procedure

 

 

 

 

Final Result

Rubric

 

Self Reflection

What I liked

I liked innovating and working around hard problems.

What I disliked

 I didn’t like how many materials we had, and sometimes, I couldn’t find what I needed.

So I hope y’all liked my post! See you next time!

2 thoughts on “Innovation Day”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *